Korean Cases: Advertising and Commerce
Review Naver log analyses, advertising-platform cases, store conversion, repeat-purchase filings, company experiments, and live commerce with denominators and evidence grades.
Written and reviewed by Eric Han · Co-founder & CTO, reopt
Key takeaways
- Naver logs associate advertising stores with +118.1% transaction value versus nonadvertisers in log-coefficient notation, approximately +226% after transformation. Stores able to spend more self-select into advertising.
- Vendor store-conversion aggregates give a 2.06% mean and 0.72–5.05% by industry. The top-100-store sample from 2021 may overstate new-store performance.
- No source for the 5–8% live-commerce conversion claim discloses its sample; 20% refers to top Chinese wanghong. Naver cumulative buyers divided by views is about 1%.
- We found two Korean advertiser conversion-lift cases, but neither discloses enough sample information to provide an adjustment multiplier.
- Lift depends on the metric and measurement scope. The same Kurly feature produced +0.3 percentage points purchase conversion in an A/B test and +595% in a narrower before/after comparison.
Grades follow How to Read the Evidence and appear at the end of the first table cell. Select inputs in the Korean Conversion Atlas.
Paid Channels
Naver Transaction-Log Analysis
The D-Ad Report and AI RIDE Report use Naver data analyzed by university researchers. They are not peer-reviewed, and Naver sells the ads; it also co-designed AI RIDE campaigns. Still, few Korean advertising sources disclose both samples and models.
| Comparison | Result | Sample / period | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Advertising versus nonadvertising stores, B | Transaction value +118.1%, orders +16.8%, log coefficient × 100; transformed about +226% and +18%, calculated | 59,680 fashion/food stores and an equal number of nonadvertisers, 104 weeks | Self-selection by stores able to advertise. Source does not explain the transaction/order gap |
| Shopping search alone versus combinations, B | Three products: transaction value +57.3%, orders +35.9%; four: +57.2%, +39.3% | 69,295 stores | Fourth product added no transaction-value gain. Spend control undisclosed |
| One-to-one consulting, propensity matching plus difference-in-differences, B | Clicks +9–15%; CPC about +15–20% | 42,679 Powerlink accounts, 6,700 consulted; 40,151 Place accounts, 4,200 consulted; 425 days | Immediate 0–3-week effects; no conversion/revenue results |
| Directly managed advertiser CPC, B | Mean 992, median 267, SD 2,597 | Same sample | Units unstated; mean about 3.7 times median, calculated |
| CTR before/after consulting, B | 1.93 → 1.98, p=0.0508 | Consulted accounts | Units unstated. Mean clicks ÷ mean impressions in the same chart is about 0.2%, calculated; aggregation matters |
| ADVoost Shopping after meeting learning threshold, 30 purchases in seven days, versus nonusers, C | Attributed purchase conversions +165%; store transaction value +66%; orders +59% | 616 entrants: 452 users, 164 controls; six weeks | Treatment depends on sales outcomes, selecting high-selling stores. Includes 152 voluntary users; no randomization stated, so downgraded relative to other Naver logs |
| Digital out-of-home, budget-set versus unset months, B | Mean monthly Place bookings 105.3 versus 98.5, +6.9% | Within-business comparison; count undisclosed; April–June 2026 | Source avoids causal claims; businesses may advertise in busy months |
ADVoost's +165% attributed conversions versus +66% transaction value, a 2.5-times ratio of lifts, is not a reported-to-incremental multiplier. Treatment classification uses purchase conversions, mechanically favoring that outcome. The D-Ad Report provides a less distorted illustration of attribution versus total outcomes: four products yield about twice the conversion revenue of three, yet total store transaction values are effectively equal. Different stores use different combinations, so this is not a direct comparison; it is only consistent with the warning in Reported and Incremental Conversions.
AI RIDE reports spending elasticities of 0.31% for purchase conversions, 0.09% for transaction value, and 0.17% for ROAS per 1% spend increase. Rising ROAS with spend contradicts usual diminishing-return expectations and warrants scrutiny of sample selection.
Increasing Budgets
Naver's advertiser-center Place article compares 90 days before/after, with undisclosed sample (D).
| Advertisers | Spend | Impressions | Clicks | Calculated click elasticity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Raised daily budget by at least KRW 50,000 | +57% | +37% | +36% | About 0.68 |
| More than doubled spending | 3.5× | 2.2× | More than 2× | At least about 0.55 |
Elasticity is ln(click multiple) ÷ ln(spend multiple). The source describes rising performance, but the figures imply rapidly increasing CPC. No conversions/revenue are reported, and only budget-increasing advertisers are included. See Creative, Retargeting, and Saturation for curve assumptions.
Consumer Recall
Nasmedia 2025 NPR reports recalled purchases following ad exposure: search 21%, short-form video 15%, Kakao messenger 12%, social feeds 11% (January 2025, 1,900 respondents; media-representation firm, C). Social feeds moved from 25% to 11% in one year, short-form from 6% to 15%. Such survey variation makes neither levels nor rankings suitable for channel selection.
A Korea Press Foundation 2024 survey interviewed 3,000 people at home. Among social users, 63.7% had clicked ads and 28.2% had purchased; blog users reported 39.4% and 12.8%. These are experience/recall responses with an unverified recall window, not conversion rates (C via press).
Search-Ad Papers
| Study | Figure | Limitation |
|---|---|---|
| Lee and Kim, 2013, B | 6,299 purchases from 104,918 IP addresses that clicked keyword ads, 6.0% | One travel company, February 2011; IP denominator |
| Yang et al., 2019, B | Within one advertiser, desktop Powerlink CTR ranges 3.16% for generic keywords, average rank 4.41, to 41.43% for own-brand keywords, rank 1.29 | One niche advertiser; illustrates weakness of one overall average |
| Kang et al., 2026, B (summary) | Commerce ads have higher CTR/CVR and higher cost per conversion than search engines | Abstract direction only; numbers, sample, and Korean-platform scope unverified; one industry-affiliated coauthor |
| Gmarket's 2011 Naver keyword-ad shutdown, D | Weekly visits about 8.9M → 7.2M, described as about −18%, over roughly four months | News cited within a paper; visits only, no seasonality/competition control |
Platform-Published Cases
All are platform or agency sales material, grade D. Keep each result tied to its stated comparison. Cases with clear interpretive lessons come first.
| Advertiser | Channel / product | Result | Comparison | Caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kesco | Powerlink + Power Contents | Contracts more than 3.5× over two years; cost per contract halved | 2022 | Tracks ad-attributed contracts; spend also rose; no absolute values |
| Food/beverage advertiser | ADVoost Shopping | Purchase ROAS 810% → 1,830%, 8.1× → 18.3× | Before adoption; spend about 1.4× | Source explicitly selected three especially successful cases |
| Smart Store Ads users | Naver Smart Store Ads | Seven in ten maintained/grew sales; four in ten grew at least 50% | Q1 2025 | Conversely, about three in ten saw sales decline despite advertising, calculated; no nonadvertiser control |
| Samsung.com | Google Performance Max | Budget about 2×, revenue 1.8×, ROAS 1.4× | Period unstated | 2× × 1.4× = 2.8×, inconsistent with revenue; country scope unstated |
| andar | Google search/shopping | ROAS +53% versus target | Target halved from usual | About 0.77× the usual target, not an improvement measure, calculated |
| Akei | TikTok conversion lift | Purchase increase 85%; relative purchase lift 551%; TikTok-only buyer ROAS 142%, 1.42× | Unexposed group | Difference between the two lifts unexplained. 85% equals 551/651 and may mean incremental share, calculated. Incremental status of ROAS and sample undisclosed |
Akei and Catalic are the only Korean advertiser conversion-lift cases found; absent samples prevent deriving calibration multipliers. A pricing reference is CHZZK 15-second instream list CPM of KRW 13,000, with 30–60% discounts by monthly spend. This is a rate card, not realized cost.
Stores and D2C
Purchase Conversion Baselines
BIGIN Ecommerce Trends Vol. 04 reports a 2.06% mean, with a confirmed sample of the top 100 stores by event count and about 237.17 million sessions, February–July 2021. These appear to be the CRM vendor's customers, potentially skewed toward mature stores. The summary does not specify whether the denominator is sessions or visitors, or how the average was calculated. The full-report link is broken; this relies on the summary.
- Children / baby5.05%
- Pets3.21%
- Food2.95%
- Beauty2.93%
- Fashion1.87%
- Accessories1.74%
- Sports1.34%
- Furniture0.72%
- Organic search2.88%
- Direct2.85%
- Email2.59%
- Paid search2.38%
- Referral1.61%
- Other1.55%
- Affiliates1.30%
- Social1.13%
- Display0.34%
- Other ads0.17%
AI-referred visits to Cafe24 D2C stores converted at 0.85%, up from 0.50% a year earlier (Q2 2026, about 850,000 visits, C via press). ChatGPT: 0.96%; Gemini: 0.57%; Perplexity: 0.5%. Cafe24's difference-in-differences analysis of paid features reports conversion gains of 29.9% for SEO plus AI product pages and 13.5% for SEO alone, about 2,300 stores (C via press). Adoption is self-selected and baseline rates absent.
Repeat Purchase and Channels in Filings
Definitions differ across companies; rows are not directly comparable.
| Company | Figure | Definition / caveat |
|---|---|---|
| 09women, B | Member → buyer 71.1%; buyer → repeat buyer 61.2% | 241,000 own-store members, cumulative 2019–2021. Nearby prose instead gives 73% and 62% |
| Oasis, B | Monthly repeat-purchase rate 97–99% in 2022 | 1 − first orders by new customers / monthly orders; rises when new customers are scarce |
| Oasis, same filing, C | Ever used → used in past three months 71.2%, other channels 47.4% | OpenSurvey, 1,500 respondents; presented in strengths section |
| Coupang Q2 2026, B | 24.7M active customers; net revenue/customer $301 | Prior year 23.9M and $307; constant-currency $321, +5%. Not conversion; country scope unstated |
| Coupang cohort, B | 2017 cohort's fifth-year total spend 4.55 times first year | Cohort total, not per-person spending or retention |
| Coupang WOW, D | Order frequency nine times nonmembers | Earnings-call statement; no definition/sample. Frequent buyers self-select into membership |
| APR, B | Korean own-store share 64.0% → 53.4% | 2020 → Q3 2023 |
| Peace Piece Studio, B | Own-store KRW 5.6B → 53.7B; external channels 42.2B → 32.3B | Consolidated 2023–2025, no overseas split; rising costs also disclosed |
| KISDI online groceries, B via press | 35.6% did not use the service again within 12 weeks of their first use | 1,500-person metropolitan panel |
Company Experiments and Before/After Comparisons
Kurly's no-results search improvement measures one feature in two ways. A roughly two-week A/B test gave purchase conversion +0.3 percentage points and purchase amount +0.7%; four weeks after full rollout, purchased units in no-result cases were +595% versus before. The latter concerns only the 6–7% of searches returning no results, with a different outcome and denominator as well as design.
| Company | Change | Result | Design |
|---|---|---|---|
| 29CM, D | Checkout payment-benefit UX | Purchase conversion 56.3% → 57.4% | Before/after versus split-arm comparison unspecified |
| Kurly, D | Personalized sale placement | Add-to-cart +32.2%; revenue/user +44.9% | 50:50, about one week, versus old model |
| Kurly, same article, D | Personalized special-offer placement | Add-to-cart +138.7% | 50:50, about one week, versus recommended ordering |
| Kurly, D | Cart recommendations | Share of users adding to cart about +100% | About 8% of users, one week; recommendation-area metric |
| Toss Shopping, D | Halved candidate pool, reallocated by model | User CVR +7.55%, orders/user +10.13%, revenue/user +0.83%, CTR −3.71% | Seven days. Uniform-quarter arm rejected despite CVR +8.89% because revenue/user −3.98% |
| Musinsa, D | Reduced personalized pushes | Sends −26%, transaction value/send +57%, daily transaction value +15% or more | Appears before/after; reducing denominator raises per-send values mechanically |
| Ohouse, D | AR product switching | User purchase conversion +26% | Users versus nonusers; self-selection |
| Olive Young, D | Signup flow redesign | Signup conversion 7.8% → 20.9% | Before/after; required inputs made optional |
| Olive Young, D | Store-pickup add-to-cart button | Store-routed pickup orders more than doubled; conversion did not rise as hoped | Counts compare one month before/after; explicitly distinguishes accessibility from conversion |
| Vreview, D | AI review curation | Purchase conversion up to +7.3%; gains at 87% of adopting stores | Vendor announcement, maximum effect |
| Very Nature, D | Channel comparison | Own-store app CVR 19.4%, web 8.3%, marketplaces 6.5% | Denominator absent; app users already loyal |
| Naver N Delivery, D | Free return/exchange support | Supported sellers' transaction value about +20% | Before/after, seasonality and selection |
| Naver D-Commerce 2020, B | Sales-analytics tool use | Revenue: produce about +34%, appliances +54%, women's apparel +43%; men's apparel nonsignificant | 40,000 stores; matching plus difference-in-differences; three weeks each before/after; Naver-funded |
| Cafe24 CRM, C via press | Message three days after cart activity | ROAS 2,170%, 21.7×; all-member campaigns 97%, 0.97× | Platform aggregate, attributed, no control |
For conversion windows, Zigzag's mean search-to-payment time of 3.4 days offers a reference: beauty 2.4, lifestyle 4.4 days in 2023 (D). Searches never leading to purchase are excluded.
Live Commerce
Tracing widely quoted “live-commerce conversion rates” reveals different or undisclosed denominators. The chart groups them to clarify provenance, not to compare performance.
- Top Chinese wanghong20%D
- Best Musinsa episode14%D
- Brokerage / solution vendor5% ~ 8%D
- Solution vendor 20253.5%D
- Grip average3%D
- One TMON broadcast2.2%D
- Naver cumulative, calculated0.89% ~ 1%C
| Value | Denominator | Provenance | Assessment |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20% | Units sold per exposure | Chinese wanghong agency TWOAB in eBEST 2020. iResearch estimate repeats it without market scope | D, not Korean data |
| 5–8% | Units sold per exposure | Same report, only “industry data, TWOAB”; an earlier 2020 solution-company CEO statement exists | D, no sample, country unclear |
| 5–10% | Units sold per exposure | Article citing a Nara Salim Research Institute report, original unverified | D, no sample |
| 3.5% | Undisclosed | 2025 article on the same solution company, reporter's wording | D |
| Mean 3%, maximum 27% | Undisclosed | Grip announcement, 2024 | D |
| 14% | Undisclosed | One Musinsa Live episode, 2021, all-time best | D |
| 2–3% or less | Undisclosed | 2021 column on seller impressions | D |
| About 2.2% | 154 buyers among about 7,000 visitors | Column author's one TMON broadcast, 2021 | D, one broadcast |
| About 0.89% and 1.0% | Cumulative buyers ÷ cumulative views, calculated | Naver announcements: 45M views / 400,000 buyers, 170M / 1.7M | C; view denominator, buyer uniqueness undisclosed |
| About 0.8–1.15% | Units sold per broadcast ÷ traffic, calculated | Means/medians in 14,434 Naver broadcasts | B, order-of-magnitude only |
| About 1.08% | Sales per broadcast ÷ views, calculated | Means in 9,938 women's-apparel broadcasts across 16 platforms | B, order-of-magnitude only |
The three data sources yield around 1%, but the first two cover overlapping Naver periods and use buyers versus units sold. They are not three independent confirmations. Follow this book's rule on ratios of averages and use them only for scale. Kakao reportedly did not disclose purchase conversion; no later official figure was found.
Naver D-Commerce 2021 reports before/after unit-sales +49% and sales value +48% among live-broadcast stores, versus +7% and +16% among nonbroadcast stores (four categories, 5,026 stores, 827 live stores, B). Excluding sales during broadcasts still gives +39% and +37%. Sellers choose whether to broadcast, and baseline daily unit sales already differ, 77 versus 30; this is not causal.
LLM Synthetic Customers
Review how well LLM customers reproduce surveys and experiments, and distinguish message shortlisting from unsupported uses in sample sizing, segmentation, and conversion forecasts.
Korean Cases: Consultations, Finance, and Public Experiments
Review hospital no-shows, SMS and phone contact, insurance retention and comparison-to-contract, consultation-to-purchase cases, and randomized Korean studies with sample caveats.